Adaptations

Mockingjay, Part 1 Trailer Released

The Mockingjay, Part 1 trailer was released and here’s how my best friend and I reacted:

But in all seriousness, these are my thoughts on the trailer.

I felt like the editing was well done for this trailer. Each clip flowed well and the clip selection was spot on. They were all scenes that fans from the books would easily recognize with a few added bits and bobs. Obviously, it’s hard to judge a movie by its trailer but I think this is going to be an epic addition to the already amazing Hunger Games series. I’ve read the books so I could kind of figure out how much of the story they’re going to tell with this one. I think they’re going to go either as far as the bombing of District 13 or the return of Peeta. Either way, I’m pumped and I can’t wait and I had a bit of a fangirl moment when I watched it.

I have to say that what I saw of the costumes and make-up in the trailer were amazing. Effie Trinket (Elizabeth Banks) looks great (even though she’s not supposed to be in District 13 but whatever). The very industrial and efficient clothing of District 13 is styled in a way to clearly show that she’s a Capital girl making due without her usual luxuries. Peeta Mellark (Josh Hutcherson) looks so crisp and clean in the all white suit. It was beyond clear he was a puppet for the capital because Peeta would never wear something like that of his own accord. Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) looks so beautiful in the trailer. I don’t what they did to her styling for this movie but she looks amazing and powerful and everything the mockingjay should be. And the bits of acting we saw in the trailer show how much she really deserves that Oscar. She was happy and hurt and demanding and confused and pissed off. I just can’t with her range of emotion. And that was just a small sampling of what she’s capable of. I’m very excited to see her in this movie.

Here’s the trailer in case you haven’t seen it. I hope you love it as much as I did.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1 comes out November 21, 2014. May the odds be ever in your favor!

