Book Reviews

Book Review: A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin (no spoilers!)

I recently finished A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin. It was fantastic. So let me tell you my feels on the whole thing.

Sequels can often ruin a series, but that wasn’t the case with CoK. If anything, I’m more invested in the story and its characters. I already have the third book, and I shall read it once I finish the book I’m reading now. I get lost in the world of the Seven Kingdoms, and I find myself just resurfacing into the real world wishing that dragons were real.

The book is just so well written. The story flows really well, and even though there is a lot of shifts in characters, the story never really loses momentum. It’s a fantastic sequel to GoT. I just don’t know what else to say about it. George R.R. Martin knows how to write a long book that doesn’t bore you to death, and that’s rare. Sometimes long books can be a drag, and I can’t finish them. But CoK kept me reading. I couldn’t stop. It was the kind of book that I’d read right before I went to sleep and didn’t put down until 4 a.m. (I wake up at 7 a.m. normally and I still regret nothing.) I encourage everyone to read this series. You just have to. This is one story that everyone should be into. This kind of well-written and fantastic story doesn’t come along very often.

