Book Tags

The Harry Potter Book Tag

So I don’t know if I’ve made it obvious that I’m absolutely OBSESSED with Harry Potter. I love that series with a burning passion. So get ready y’all (I’ve been spending a ton of time with southern people so #sorrynotsorry) because I’m about to do a Harry Potter tag!

Luna Lovegood – a book you’ve read that’s really weird.

The Metamorphasis by Franz Kafka. That book just fucked me up. I know it’s technically a short story but oh my God it’s the weirdest thing I have ever fucking read. It made absolutely no sense to me. Like maybe I’m just an uncultured swine who can’t appreciate a classic but I just couldn’t with this story.

Dolores Umbridge – a book with a really nice cover that you disliked.

Juliet by Anne Fortier. I should clarify that I didn’t hate this book. It was decent enough (bonus points if you understood that reference). I just feel like it was a bit disappointing. It could have been a great book because it’s a great concept but it fell flat towards the end. The cover was what drew me to it though because I like the cover a lot.

Fred and George Weasley – a book that made you laugh.

The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler. This was actually really hard for me because I read a lot of depressing and heavy books. But looking back, this book had some very funny moments mixed in with the heartbreaking sadness of a girl learning to love her own body. (I’m planning a whole series of “what fictional characters taught me about [insert topic here] and I think I’ll have one about body positivity.)

Hermione Granger – a book that makes you feel smart for having read it.

A Street Car Named Desire by Tennessee Williams. I don’t know why but I just feel so smart having read this play. It’s not even particularly complex in language or style but I just really love it and it makes me feel smart when I say that I’ve read it.

Sybill Trelawney – a book you haven’t read yet (or hasn’t been released) that you just KNOW you’re going to love.

The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead. It’s the last book of the Bloodlines series which I have loved so far. So I just know I’m going to love the last book even if I’ll want to cry because it’s the end and the series will be over and just 😥 THANKS FOR REMINDING ME.

Severus Snape – a book that has mixed reviews, that you either really enjoyed or really disliked.

The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling. I really liked this book but I feel like a lot of people didn’t like it very much because it wasn’t Harry Potter or because it wasn’t what they were expecting it to be. I thought it was brilliant and it was pretty heavy but I liked that. Harry Potter wasn’t a light read towards the end of the series so I don’t know why people didn’t like it.

Harry Potter – a book from your childhood

Frindle by Andrew Clements. I remember absolutely loving this book when I read it 4th grade. I picked it at random when I had to do a book report and I’m so glad I chose it. It’s great and looking back it’s a very important book for me. (Harry Potter was a second choice for this category btw but I was trying to broaden my horizons and all that bullshit.)

