Book Reviews

“The Ruby Circle” by Richelle Mead: SPOILERS

This is it. I have read the final book of the Bloodlines Series by Richelle Mead.

My review will have some spoilers so I’ll add a read more bar. Do not click read more unless you have read The Ruby Circle.

Now that all the non-readers are gone, let’s get on with the review.

The Ruby Circle was a great ending to the series. It tied up loose ends. It had a lot of magic and action. It was amazing. That being said, it was a bit underwhelming. I loved it but it lacked the same sucker punch effect that Last Sacrifice had.  I know I shouldn’t compare them but it’s true.  I thought that there would be more action considering they were on a quest to find Jill but it ended up being very magic based. I guess that makes more sense because that’s what Sydney and Adrian are best at but I wanted more ass kicking considering Rose and Dimitri were a major part of the story.

The book focuses mostly on Sydney and Adrian’s relationship, their tug of war between them. Adrian wanting to help everyone with spirit and Sydney begging him not to. The book really hones in on that aspect of their relationship. When Adrian almost loses himself in the thrall of spirit and he can’t remember who Sydney is, my heart stopped. It was their worst nightmare. But he pulled back. He was okay. So I really loved that the book honed in on that issue.

I thought Sydney fixed the Alchemist problem quite nicely. She struck a bargain with the one Alchemist she still respected and kind of trusted. I’m surprised Stanton went along with what Sydney asked but I’m so glad it worked out. Stanton is an Alchemist I actually like. She believes the same things as the other Alchemists but she’s still someone I respect. I’m glad she’s going to get the Alchemists to at least rethink the goals of reeducation. She sees it’s not having the effect the Alchemists want and I wish I could see into the future and see if they actually got rid of it.

Overall, it was a great book. I really really enjoyed it. It ended the series on a happy note. I hope Richelle will revisit this world in another spin-off because there’s so much left to explore.

Okay now it’s time for the bombshells from the book. The things that made me fangirl and gasp and want to scream. If you haven’t read the book and you are planning to do so, stop reading now. I’m serious. These are major spoilers. Fangirl with me people who have read the book!

First, we meet Dimitri’s dad. Yes. I know. But it gets better. Dimitri’s dad is Adrian’s uncle. Yup. You read that right. Dimitri and Adrian are cousins. Holy shit I know.

Second, Olive left because she’s pregnant. And you will never believe who the father is. Ready? It’s Neil. But that’s impossible right? Because dhampirs can’t have children with other dhampirs. Well, apparently strigoi restoration fixes that. It makes it possible. So what’s in the future for Rose and Dimitri? I hope they’re being safe.

Third, Nina fries herself with spirit. This is a sad one I know.

Fourth, Adrian and Sydney are foster parents to Declan (Olive and Neil’s son). They’re really good parents. Who would’ve thought?

Fifth, the Warriors and the Alchemists are working together. We already knew that. But now we know what exactly they’re doing. You know those magic tattoos from the first book that made humans super strong? Yea. The Alchemists are supplying the Warriors with that. And you will never believe who’s involved. No, not Keith. Nope. It’s none other than Mr. Sage. Sydney’s dad. We knew that man was awful but wow.

Lastly, you’ll want to hold on to your seats for this one. Rose and Dimitri are engaged! OMG OMG I know. It’s amazing. Finally! It’s what we’ve all always dreamed of!

