Lists

Seven YA Books with Strong/Badass Female Leads

Hello, lovelies! I’ve been insanely busy with work so I haven’t had much time for book blogging. Sorry about that. I know the following post is so lazy, but I’m taking a quick work break and I thought I would put together a quick list for you. In no particularly order of favoritism or badassery (shush it’s a word), here are seven young adult books with strong/badass female leads.

Vampire Academy:

So you all knew that VA would be on this list, right? I mean I can’t seem to shut up about Rose Hathaway. She’s gorgeous and confident and such a freaking badass. She can kick anyone’s ass and look flawless while doing it. If you want to read about a girl who punches first and finds out who she actually hit later, then read this series.


House of Night:

I feel like I don’t talk about this series enough. Zoe Redbird is one badass vampire. She controls all five elements (air, fire, water, earth, and spirit) and can use them to beat the shit out of anyone. Zoe is basically fighting a war against another badass vampire Neferet (we don’t like her despite admiring her badassness). It’s not the best series in the world but give it a read if you’re interested in badass female leads.


Harry Potter:

Another series that you probably knew would be on here. Herminone Granger. Certified badass. The girl lit a professor on fire her first year. She managed to make polyjuice potion her second year. She figured out Lupin was a werewolf by shear power of deduction. If it wasn’t for Hermione, Harry and Ron wouldn’t have lasted a day in all their shenanigans. I mean they’re very capable wizards, but Hermione was the problem solver and the logical thinker. Just read the series if you haven’t already and go see what I mean.


Bloodlines:

I’m just slightly predictable, I’m sorry. But Sydney Sage in Bloodlines is just GAH. Not only a badass with her Alchemist tricks and intelligence, she starts using magic and is a total badass in that regard. I just feel like someone put Rose and Hermione together and made a new breed of badassery. Go read it. Now.


Divergent:

Tris Prior. Where do I even begin with Tris Prior? She’s willing to do what it takes to protect those she loves even if it means sacrificing herself to do it. She absolutely kicks ass throughout the series and it’s just entirely impressive.


The Hunger Games:

I can’t even with Katniss Everdeen. She survives 2 games where you fight to the death and a damn war. She is of course traumatized but she keeps living. She keeps going. She’s strong and amazing and just a badass.


Dorothy Must Die

Amy Gumm is the newest addition to my favorite female characters list. She’s strong willed and stubborn and towards the end a total badass fighter. She’s going up against Dorothy and her cronies and she still has a long way to go before her fight is over. But Amy is such an amazing character and a badass and she will defeat Dorothy.

