Book Reviews

Book Review: Dorothy Must Die Short Stories

Book ReviewIt’s time for another book review! So I read the Dorothy Must Die prequel novellas/short stories immediately after finishing the book, which is by Danielle Paige. So I thought I would review the short stories. Now I thought hard about how to review these. Should I make a separate post for each story? I was very tempted to do that. I mean each story was so different. I could definitely write short posts on each one. But then I thought that I would rather not spam you guys like that. So should I review the stories as one entity in one post? That wouldn’t work either because as I previously stated, each story is so different. So here’s how we’re going to do this lovelies, I’ll do three short reviews in one big post. I’ll put it under read more because that would make things better for those who are just scrolling through my blog. Also, I would hate to spoil anything for anyone who still hasn’t read them. So enough of my blogger babbling let’s get to the reviews!

Warning spoilers ahead

No Place Like Oz

This was the first prequel to Dorothy Must Die. It’s in Dorothy’s point of view and it answers sooooooo many questions. So this novella takes place after Dorothy’s first trip to Oz. She’s back in Kansas and she is so unhappy to be there (ironic considering how badly she wanted to go back there when she was in Oz). You start seeing that Dorothy was always the kind of girl who craved attention and now that she’s back in Kansas, she’s nobody. She’s told three people about Oz and nobody believes her. But that all changes on her 16th birthday when some ruby slippers appear after her miserable little birthday party. Dorothy Gale, Aunt Em, and Uncle Henry are heading to Oz.

Once there, Dorothy realizes that time passes differently in Oz and she is a mere character in history. Almost nobody remembers her. Meeting up with her old friends, Dorothy realizes that something is up with Glinda and that Ozma is behind it all. Dorothy gets power hungry with magic and turns into the vicious ruler we see in Dorothy Must Die.

I thought this was a much needed prequel. In Dorothy Must Die, I kept asking myself what made Dorothy evil and what happened to Ozma to turn her into a vacant-eyed lunatic and how the hell did Dorothy get back to Oz. This novella answers all of these questions beautifully albeit a bit slowly. There’s lots of set up and history in this story and the pacing of the first 3/4 of it was a bit slow. Don’t get me wrong. It wasn’t terribly hard to get through, but I just felt that the novella raised it’s own questions, and it took a bit longer than it could have to tell the story. But that’s just me. I really really enjoyed this prequel, and I couldn’t wait to read the rest.

The Witch Must Burn

The second prequel is from the point of view of Jellia Jamb, the head maid of the Emerald Palace. In this novella, we learn about her history with Ozma and her role with the Order of the Wicked.

I have to say the minute in Dorothy Must Die that we found out that Jellia was the castle informant, I became immensely interested in her character. How did she come to this role? She does magic? Who taught her? Like I said, fascinating,

In the prequel, we see that Jellia was incredibly close with Ozma and she always wondered what Dorothy did to turn her best friend into a vacant lifeform. Glinda uses compulsion magic to force Dorothy to give up Jellia for the summer so she could work in Glinda’s palace. (Glinda is basically Umbridge from Harry Potter; she’s evil and pink.) We also learn about the magic mining and how it’s all Glinda’s idea. She’s been wanting to do it for a while. Interestingly enough, we also learn that while Dorothy thinks she’s in control, Glinda is the puppeteer pulling the strings. Jellia is Glinda’s first sacrifice to the the magic mining machine because Glinda noticed something that Jellia never knew before…she’s part fairy. The attempts almost kill her, and Glinda is severely disappointed that her plan didn’t work. Jellia meets Nox (the informer at Glinda’s palace), and he eventually introduces her to the Order of the Wicked where she agrees to spy on Dorothy.

Jellia has to be one of the most interesting characters to read about. She’s a compelling narrator and I think this was my favorite novella of the three. It was well written and a total page turner. I couldn’t believe it when I reached the end. I felt like I hadn’t been reading for that long. Completely and absolutely loved this one.

The Wizard Returns

The final prequel novella for Dorothy Must Die. Now we all wondered how the Wizard made it back to Oz when we read Dorothy Must Die. I mean, we all know how the story goes. The Wizard flew away on his balloon a bit before Dorothy went back to Kansas. This story starts out with the Wizard leaving flying off on his balloon. He’s grumbling to himself about being kicked out of Oz by Dorothy when a storm hits and his balloon crashes onto the poppy field. There the Wizard sleeps for 25 years when Pete (who we know is Ozma, courtesy of Dorothy Must Die) wakes him up. The Wizard, who has no idea who he is, goes through three tests of Wisdom, Courage, and Love to see if he’s worthy of regaining his memories and being the tool of the fairies who are trying to restore order to Oz. He proves worthy, but little do the fairies know that the Wizard has his own plans to crown himself Oz’ ruler once more.

This was my second favorite of the novellas. It was very well paced and well written. It did throw me off that this novella was in third person. The other novellas and Dorothy Must Die were all first person narratives, but this one wasn’t. It really threw me off a bit, and I didn’t feel it was as compelling of a read when it was in third person. I still loved it as it showed me a lot more of Oz than the other novellas, and the novel did.

Alright thanks for bearing with me guys! That’s it for my reviews of the Dorothy Must Die prequels.

