Lists

Completed Series

I feel like I rarely talk about my own reading habits on this blog. That’s a bit odd, isn’t it? I started this blog so I could share my love of reading with the world. It was an outlet for me to talk about what I’ve read and the things that I love reading. So in an attempt to give you a glimpse at my bookshelf, here’s a list of all the series that I have finished.

1. Robert Langdon Books by Dan Brown

I know there’s hate around Dan Brown’s books, but I genuinely enjoyed these books. Robert Langdon was an interesting character to follow. Sure his adventures were unrealistic, but that’s what I liked about these books. A man with no more than his intelligence and an even more intelligent woman by his side solving impossible mysteries in a race against time.

2. The House of Night Series by P.C. and Kristin Cast

I love this series at the beginning. The characters were great, the magic system was interesting, and it was refreshing to see a matriarchal society. The only problem with this series is that it dragged on and on. It has 12 books. 12! The first few were good but the others just weren’t up to par. I think it would have been better if the authors had combined a few of the books just so that there was much more content in each. It would have made a lot more sense. I stuck with this series though because I couldn’t look away. I still cared about a few of the characters so I needed to know how it ended.

3. The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Hands down, this is one of my favorite series. It was different than all the boy obsessed books that I had been reading before. The whole Team Peeta and Team Gale thing didn’t start up until the movie was coming out and the major outlets started to cover this series. I found Katniss to be such an amazing character. I like that she isn’t written like an unfeeling superhero that isn’t fazed by emotional trauma. She’s raw and real. The society in which the series is set is intriguing, and I like that the book doesn’t shy away from killing favorite characters. It’s war dammit. It’s messy and violent and there are a lot of senseless deaths.

4. How To Ruin Trilogy by Simone Elkeles

These are very light easy reads. The series isn’t particularly deep, but it could be worse. It’s chicklit in all it’s glory and I don’t care. I remember enjoying these as light pick me ups considering how much doom and gloom I tend to read.

5. If I Stay Duology by Gayle Forman

Speaking of doom and gloom (hello smooth transitions). These have to be some of my favorite books. Don’t let the covers fool you, these are not chicklit books. They are not light reads. They will rip your heart out and tear it to shreds like any good book will do. I really really enjoyed reading these books, and I think I actually finished each book in a few hours, so they’re pretty short. I highly recommend these.

6.Fifty Shades Trilogy by E.L. James (I know I suck)

I was curious okay. They suck. Some of the scenes are hot; I’m not gonna lie. Some of them make me squirm because they’re very rapey and trying to be played off as romantic, which is very very dangerous territory. They’re just smutty fanfics and not very good ones. Go find good smutty fics online. There’s plenty of them.

7. Emily Windsnap Series by Liz Kessler

I read these as a kid and they were cute. I recommend them for 11 and under.

8. Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead

I love this series. It’s one of my favorites. Rose Hathaway is my queen, and I want to be just like her. I love that this series is more than just romance, it’s about friendship, courage, badassery, morality, mental health, magic, and so much more. It’s funny, sarcastic, dramatic, romantic, and sometimes dark. I highly highly recommend this series to anybody.

9. Bloodlines Series by Richelle Mead

Spin-off to the Vampire Academy series, Bloodlines focuses on Alchemist Sydney Sage. I know I said that Rose is my queen, but Sydney is also my queen in a different way. She’s smart, clever, strong, and a total badass. Like Vampire Academy, this series crosses genre borders because it deals with so much. Love it. If you read Vampire Academy, you have to read Bloodlines too. Trust me.

10. Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer

I was young, okay? Don’t judge me. This series really made me fall in love with reading again. I had been in a slump for a few years. I hadn’t been reading much. My friends were reading this so I went for it. And little middle school me liked them a lot.

11. The Immortals Series by Alyson Noel

This was a meh series. It wasn’t terribly long and the books were fairly simple. It’s a series that I enjoyed it while reading it and then kind of forgot about it.

12. Death on a High Floor Duology by Charles Rosenberg

Not gonna lie, the books aren’t very well written. But it was a good little mystery to hold me over. They were alright.

13. Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

Another favorite. I read this series in the course of a week. I was really just devouring these books because I enjoyed them so much. I recommend this series to anyone who enjoyed The Hunger Games, but let me be clear, it’s not exactly like The Hunger Games. It’s dystopian and the leads are two very badass and very real girls, but the series are still very different. This one has a slightly bigger emphasis on romance than The Hunger Games did, but it’s not the central theme of the book. This book deals more with the theme of humanity and if eradicating our faults really makes society better.

14. Harry Potter Series by J.k. Rowling (the Queen)

And finally my all time favorite series. Harry Potter holds a special place in my heart. It will never end for me, and I’m planning to get a Harry Potter themed tattoo soon. It’s the series that will never die. The fandom will never allow it. The series deals with so much, and you really got to grow up with the characters. If you haven’t read this, I don’t know what to tell you. You’re way behind. The Hogwarts Express has left without you. But never fear, read it and Hogwarts will be there to welcome you home.

