Book Reviews · Wrap-ups

June Wrap Up

So…June went by pretty quickly, didn’t it? I have to be honest that writing this post almost seems like a waste of time since I only read one book. I don’t know what happened. I was in the middle of The Book Thief, which is amazing by the way, and it’s like I hit a wall. I knew I was enjoying the book and I definitely want to see how it ends, but I suddenly lost desire to read altogether. It was so odd. But no more. I will finish The Book Thief and my July wrap-up will be less pitiful.

Anyway, this is the book I read this month.

HYPERBOLE AND A HALF: UNFORTUNATE SITUATIONS, FLAWED COPING MECHANISMS, MAYHEM, AND OTHER THINGS THAT HAPPENED BY ALLIE BROSH

Okay, so this is hands down the funniest book I have ever read. It’s witty and honest and had me actually laughing. Like normally when a book has some sort of funny or witty remark I don’t actually laugh…it’s more like a forceful exhale or maybe a slight chuckle. But this book had me cry laughing. It was hilarious and a nice change from all the doom and gloom that I’m always reading. My mom is actually reading this right now and she finds it hilarious too. So yes, I would highly recommend this to anyone who needs a laugh. I feel obliged to tell you that though this book has cartoons, it’s not for kids. There is some strong language and a few more mature themes. I’d say 15 and up would be a good age? But yes. Very funny book. It’s a must read.

