Book Tags

Social Media Book Tag

BookTagHey, loves! Don’t freak out over me posting more than twice a week. I was just feeling in the mood for a post. I almost did a book review on Carrie by Stephen King, but I got writer’s block and couldn’t figure out how to articulate what I thought of the book. Maybe I’ll review that in a few days when I can actually express a coherent thought. Anyway, I feel like I haven’t done a book tag in a few weeks so today I’m going to do the Social Media Book Tag. Enjoy!

Twitter: your favorite Short Book

I’m choosing Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh. The book doesn’t seem all that short when you first look at it because it’s a pretty thick book and it has about 200 or 300 pages, but most of the pages are taken up by little comic strips/cartoons so it ends up being a really quick read. I think I finished it in like an hour or so. This book is absolutely hilarious; I was legit cry-laughing when I read it. I definitely recommend this to anyone who needs a pick me up or a break from all the sad moody books that we are all so drawn to.

Facebook: a book everyone pressured you to read

I’m going with The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I didn’t start reading this until Mockingjay (the book not the movie) came out. All my friends were reading it and they were so excited for the third book. They were completely shocked that I hadn’t read it yet. Then came all the nagging that I absolutely had to read it, and I’m so glad I did. I’m sure you guys have figured out that I absolutely adore this trilogy, and I’m pumped for the last movie.

Tumblr: a book you read before it was cool

This is actually really hard because I don’t think I’ve read many books before they were cool. The only one I can thin of is Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. I don’t think this book gets enough recognition. I don’t feel like I’ve heard a ton of people taking about it. I think it’s a fantastic book and it’s really well written and more people need to read it. I should point out that there’s a suicide and rape trigger warning in this book so keep that in mind if you choose to read it.

Myspace: A book you’re not sure if you liked or not

Definitely Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. It stands out in my mind because I’m the kind of person who either loves something or absolutely hates it. I tend to have strong reactions to things with rarely any ambivalent or in between emotions. Gone Girl wasn’t like that. I think I liked it. The writing was good, and it was suspenseful, but the ending was so underwhelming. I ended up being really frustrated with the book. So I’m not sure if I like it or not. I think it really depends on my mood.

Instagram: A Book that is so Beautiful that you just had to instagram it

I really love the cover of Shadow and Bone  by Leigh Bardugo. I think it’s absolutely beautiful and not too overwhelming. I love the contrast of the white antlers and the black shadows and it fits the story so well.

YouTube: A Book you wish would get turned into a movie

Hands down, this one goes to The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I absolutely love this book. I might even go as far as saying that this is probably my stand-alone book. But really this book with all it’s magic and old-timey wonder would translate so beautifully onto screen. Mainly, I just want to see Le Circe des Rêves come to life. I need this to be a beautiful movie.

Goodreads: A book you recommend to everyone

I pretty much want everyone to read The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I think this is such a beautifully written book that a lot of different people would love. It has history, fiction, coming-of-age, tragedy, hardship, childhood romance. I mean there’s something there for everyone. I did a full book review on this if you guys want to read what I had to say about this book but yes, I think this is my go to recommendation.

That’s it for my Social Media Book Tag. I hope you guys enjoyed it and I’ll talk to y’all soon!

