Book Reviews · Wrap-ups

August Wrap-up

August was another slow month for reading. School started, and by the time I’m done with class, homework, and studying for the LSAT, I’m just tired and want to go to sleep. I’m starting to get into the rhythm of things, so maybe I’ll be able to read a little bit more in the next few months. I really need to up my game. I’m 20 books behind on my Goodreads challenge.

Here are the books I read in August:

CARRIE BY STEPHEN KING

I wanted to step out of my reading comfort zone and decided to read Carrie by Stephen King. I actually really enjoyed the novel and was kind of surprised that it was more creepy than scary. I’m so easily scared so I’m always hesitant when picking up thrillers and horror novels. But I really enjoyed this book. It was a fairly quick read, and I really liked the writing style. I did feel that it was hard to follow in the beginning because it switches from narrative to articles to books to interview transcriptions and it took me a bit to get used to that. I still really enjoyed this and I would definitely recommend it.

AWOKEN BY SERRA ELINSEN

Awoken was recommend to me by a friend with the following description: “It’s a YA paranormal romance novel that parodies every YA paranormal romance novel.” I was obviously intrigued. I really liked this book. It was absolutely ridiculous at points, and it made me burst into laughter in public and people looked at me as if I had lost my damn mind. I would definitely recommend it to people who like YA paranormal romance and still like to make fun of YA paranormal romance.

