Book Reviews · Wrap-ups

September Wrap-Up

OMG it is finally October. I don’t think I’ve mentioned my undying love for Halloween on this blog quite yet but let’s just say that my dorm room is already decked out in fake cobwebs, skulls, and ghosties.

But my love of Halloween is not the point of this post. October is here meaning it’s time I tell you about the books I read in September. Considering September was spent freaking out over schoolwork and studying for the LSAT, I am impressed that I managed to finish three books. Granted, two of them were for my legal theory class, so I kind of had to read them. I’m still counting them because they took up a lot of my reading time.

Anyway, here are the books I read in September:

The Concept of the Law by H.L.A. Hart

I was weirdly intrigued by this book. It’s very academic and dense, but it wasn’t a slow read by any means. As a future law student, I’m obviously very interested in what the law is and what it does. Hart is one of those fundamental theorists that we all have to read. I was annoyed that I had to read this because the book we had to read next was dedicated to proving Hart wrong and revising his theory. I understood the importance of reading Hart before I moved on to the next theorist, but the fact that everything I was so painstakingly learning was going to be replaced once I finished this book did put me off a little.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

I am so glad I got to finish rereading this. I was very close to done at the end of August but life got in the way and I couldn’t do it. I have talked about my love for Harry Potter here, and I just felt that it was time to experience the story again. It’s interesting reading it from a new perspective. I mean as a kid it was just magical and as a high schooler things took on new meaning. Reading it now as I very quickly approach my 21st birthday, I have a new appreciation for the story. I look at Hermione and truly see how young and insecure she is. I look at McGonnagall with more than just awe. I truly admire her. She’s strong and tough but she cares so deeply. I could go on and on about it. I’m almost done with Chamber of Secrets but I will save my thoughts for my October Wrap-Up.

Taking Rights Seriously by Ronald Dworkin

Another legal theory book. This one lays out the current standard for legal theory so I was less annoyed by it. Just like Hart, Dworkin was dense but not difficult to read. I do see why Hart was so important to read before I read Dworkin because this book would not have made any sense without that context.

