Lists

Books that made me cry

So I’m a really emotional reader. The smallest things will make me cry. I cry if the book is happy. I cry if its sad. I cry if it makes me angry. I’m just a mess when I read. Anyway, I thought I would list the books that really made me sob. I’m not putting them in any particular order because I don’t really know how to judge which ones made me sob more. Any way, these are my sob-worthy books.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Now, I really did not expect to cry in this book. It’s the beginning of a very intense series and I was just getting into it. I’d already accepted that death was a part of this series but then a certain sweet and kind character dies, and I just did not expect it to happen that quickly and I was really upset, and it was not fair. Not okay.

MockingJay by Suzanne Collins

We all know why I cried during this one. Like what the hell? I know it’s war but what in the actual fuck? Why so much death? It’s not fair. It killed me on the inside. It just was not okay and especially that very unexpected death at the end. You know the one I mean. The one at the Capitol outside of Snow’s mansion. I lost it. I refused to believe it. I had to reread that part a few times to make sure I understood. Also that death in the sewers. That was not okay.

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Okay this book is sad from beginning to end. It’s about a girl who was in a car crash with her entire family and is left comatose with a very difficult decision to make. I thought this book was beautifully written but omg so many tears. I could not handle this book and I wasn’t exactly prepared for this story line.

The fault in Our Stars by John Green

So when I started this book I figured someone was going to die, but I didn’t expect it to hit me so hard. I mean death was a given in this one. I just didn’t expect to fall so in love with these characters and their story. The first time I read this I was not okay.

Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead

Omg this book tore my heart out my chest and stomped on it. I could not with the end of this book. I was not okay. I think I actually screamed in surprise because it just did not make sense to me. I refused to accept it for the rest of the book, but by the next book, I’d grown to accept and process the end of this book.

Blood Promise by Richelle Mead

Speaking of the next book, Richelle sent me on another spiral of sobbing and sadness. This book is so full of Rose’s pain and loss. I would argue it’s the most emotional book of the series because Rose is still consumed by the events of the last book. As the reader, you have to go through it with her, and the end is pretty heartbreaking.

The Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead

THIS FUCKING BOOK. I could not with the end of this book. I mean you have Adrian feeling shitty and losing control and then you have the thing that happens with Sydney. I just. I could not. It made me really sad. I was sobbing when I read this and then I had to study for a final that I had the next day. It was a very trying day.

New Moon by Stephenie Meyer

Yes. I sobbed when Edward left. Sue me. I was a Twilight fan and I was not okay with this. It hurt my soul place. I just. I couldn’t with the beginning of this book. It was too much for my preteen heart.

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

Like TFIOS, death was inevitable in this one. But holy shit I was not expecting that. It did not go the way I thought it would, and it felt like someone had punched me in the gut. It was not okay.

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

I was actually spoiled, and I knew how this series would end before I actually started it. But goddammit I was still a sobbing mess at the end. However, I was mostly angry sobbing at this one because ugh why?!?!?! If you’ve read it, you know what I’m talking about, and you feel my pain.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling

Do I even need to explain?!?!?! SIRIUS! Fuck you, Bellatrix!

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by JK Rowling

Fuck you, Snape! This was too much. It was not okay. I refuse to accept it. UGH!

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling

SO MUCH DEATH. NO TIME TO PROCESS. JUST DEATH. DEATH EVERYWHERE. WERE YOU TRYING TO KILL US, JO?

The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks

Yes, I cried because of a Nicholas Sparks novel. This one is actually sad, and the things it did to my heart were not okay. I sobbed so hard towards the end of this. It killed me.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

I actually watched the movie before I read the book and they both killed me. This is such a heartbreaking and painfully real read. It was and interesting way of looking at a major part of American history and really drove the emotions and pain and turmoil home. It’s one of my favorite books but it’s really sad and painful. Also, be prepared to be angry because I know I also got really angry reading this.

