Book Reviews · Wrap-ups

October Wrap-up

octoberwrapup

October went by really quickly didn’t it? I really dropped the ball on posts. I missed the Mockingjay Trailer releases and news (I’ll do a big catch up leading up to the premiere of the movie) and I was late on almost every new releases. What can I say? I started a new job at the dining halls, midterms were kicking my ass, the LSAT was a thing, and I had a bunch of different projects. Like I said, it was a super busy month. I still found time to read though! With everything going on, I needed something to keep me sane. I didn’t read as much as I wanted to, but I did manage to read three books and none of them were class related. (I wasn’t slacking, we just haven’t made it through another legal theory book yet). Anyway, here are the books I read this month!

Harry potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

Finally made it through the second book. Granted, I read a lot of this in September, but I didn’t finish it until early October. I’m really loving rereading this series. I’m noticing things I never noticed before and it’s cool to get another perspective on one of my favorites series ever. I was a bit afraid that I would reread them and not love them as much anymore but that was certainly not the case. I love these books and I always will.

lifeanddeathLife and Death by Stephenie Meyer

So Stephenie Meyer totally pulled a Beyonce. For those who don’t know, Life and Death is a gender bent version of Twilight. Stephenie did this for the 10th anniversary of Twilight (God I feel old) and I was super pumped to read this. I got it the day after it came out and I wanted to just devour it. It did take me a few days to get through it because of work but I really enjoyed reading a fresh take on Twilight. I mean, it’s been 10 years since Twilight first came out and Stephenie’s grown as a writer. The quality of the writing really improved. I did feel the ending was a bit rushed but that’s a minor complaint.

Harry potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

To finish up the month, I read Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. Again, I’m really loving the series, and I have a new appreciation for it. As a 20 (almost 21) year-old, I look at the book from a very different perspective than when I read it when I was younger. I’m at the beginning of Goblet of Fire right now and oh my goodness I have so many thoughts. But you’ll have to wait until my November Wrap-Up to hear them!

