Wrap-ups

December Wrap-Up

Wrap-Up (1).jpg

So….I’m back….

Let me start by saying that I had no intention of leaving, but with finals and getting horrendously sick and the holidays, I kept forgetting to update you guys. But it’s a new year and I’m back. If you read the title of this post, you know that this is my December Wrap-up. I finished 7 books in December. I’m pretty impressed with myself, even though I fell short of my Goodreads Challenge. I wanted to read 60 books in 2015 but alas I only read 42. I’m trying again this year.

Anyway…enough of my rambling. These are the books I read in December!

HBPHarry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

I had so much fun rereading this book. I forgot how much I love the character dynamics in this book. The relationship between Harry and Dumblerdore in this book is in such stark contrast to their relationship on Order of the Phoenix, which of course made the ending even more heartbreaking. I also love that we get to see the romantic side of a lot of the characters and how they’re trying to figure out what the hell their hormones are telling them to do. And my heart was just breaking for Draco because he didn’t deserve what he had to go through. He’s a little shit and his father deserved to go to Azkaban, but he didn’t deserve having such a looming death threat over his head. I just, I loved this even more upon rereading it.

5.jpg

PopSonnets.jpgPop Sonnets by Erik Didriksen

This was a funny book that I got for me and my friends. It’s essentially a book of popular songs rewritten as Shakespearean sonnets. I made for a really nice stress-relief during finals because I just kept reading the different sonnets and trying to make my friends guess what song it was. It’s just a really creative and different book, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

5

DHHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

I did it. I finished rereading the entire series. This book gave me so many feels because so much death. I was surprised that the character deaths still hit me really hard. I thought since it was the third time around that maybe they wouldn’t have the same impact but they did. The amount of emotion in this book is unreal. I still cried. I’m not ashamed. But of course, all was well.

5

IlluminaeIlluminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book. I honestly picked it up because the cover was too cool. Seriously, if you see this in a bookstore, look at the cover. The format also intrigued me because it’s told entirely in classified documents, IMs, emails, transcripts, medical files, etc. Because I didn’t really pick it up for the content; it could have been a total disaster. I am so happy that was not the case. This book is brilliant. The story is very different from anything I’ve ever read before. I’m not really sure how to explain the plot, and I personally enjoyed going into this book without knowing what it was about. That being said, I did find the beginning of this book a bit confusing, which made it harder to get into, and the end was dragged on too much for my liking. I still think this is worth a read and I cannot wait for the next book.

4

DaughterOfSmokeAndBone.jpgDaughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

So my best friend got me all the books in this trilogy for Christmas, and I was super excited. I wasn’t entirely sure what this book was about, but I’d heard it was about angels and demons and that it was really good. The first book definitely had me hooked. I really love Karou and Zusana and Akiva. The characters are so well-written and their background and personalities are so detailed. It was really easy to get into this book.

5

DaysOfBloodAndStarlight.jpgDays of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

Yes, I immediately opened the second book when I finished the first one. I couldn’t help myself. I’m so into the story. I did feel the second book wasn’t as exciting as the first book, but it was still really good. The end really made up for the rest of the book. So much happened at once and I had to go back and reread it to make sure I got everything. It really got me excited for the third and final book, which I’m working on right now.

4

StayingStrong.jpgStaying Strong by Demi Lovato

So this is a book I read throughout the year. I was kind of meh about it. Some of the entries were actually really good at getting my day started, and they kept me in a good mood. But, some of them were kinda cheesy, and I just couldn’t take them seriously. I don’t know. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great.

2.jpg

