Book Reviews · Wrap-ups

February 2016 Wrap-Up

Wrap-Up.jpg

February was a busy month with very little time for reading. Between classes and work and my family moving, I found myself wanting to read by being so tired that I could not read more than 2 pages before falling asleep. It happens. I did manage to finish a book for class and get through a short little children’s book that my friend let me borrow. So here they are!

prophet.jpgIn the Footsteps of the Prophet by Tariq Ramadan

I was reading this book in my religion class in order to provide context when we were talking about Islam and the teachings in the Quran. If I said I found this book interesting, I’d be lying. I recognized that it was a well-written book, but I could not deal with it. Part of it was that I had to read it for class. My professor is also far more interesting than this book, and I don’t know how helpful I found it.

princess.jpgThe Princess Test by Gail Carson Levine

My friend and I were discussing how much we loved reading and watching retellings of fairy tales and she told me about this one. It’s a retelling of The Princess and the Pea, and it is the cutest thing I have ever read. It took me less than an hour. It’s a very short and simple book, but I really enjoyed it. I like that the blacksmith’s daughter could be a princess in this world. I just found it to be a really cute and funny read. Yes, I am a grown-ass woman and I would recommend this book to a lot of people. It takes no time to read, and it’s just so cute. I loved it. I wish I had known about it when I was younger.

