Book Tags

Unpopular Opinions Booktag

I kept seeing this tag on Booktube, and I thought it would be cool to do it, sooooo…..header.jpg

A book or series that everyone else loves but you hate

PaperTownsPaper Towns by John Green

Don’t kill me. I do not hate Paper Towns. I repeat, I do not hate it. But I don’t love it as much as everyone else. I feel like this book is super popular and everyone is drinking the John Green Kool-aid and thinks this book is just as amazing as Looking for Alaska or The Fault in Our Stars. I wasn’t that into it. It was okay. I didn’t really connect with the characters. The reason I chose it for this category is because I don’t really have a book that I hate that everyone else loves. This is the closest I could get to properly filling this category.

A book or series that you love but everyone else hates

Allegiant.jpgAllegiant by Veronica Roth

I feel like people were so pissy about the end of this series. (I won’t spoil what happens but it’s big). Sure, I was upset when that thing happened, but it was totally inline with that character and with the story. It was the natural progression of the story. I don’t understand why people hate it so much. It’s the ending that made sense and I have a hard time faulting the series for that.

A ship you’re not onboard with

TheHungerGamesKatniss and Gale

I know these two are not endgame but so many people love the idea of this couple. I’m not gonna lie, when I read the first book I was so #TeamGale, but after Katniss went to the Games, Peeta was really the best guy for Katniss (not that she needed one). Gale was perfect for pre-Hunger Games Katniss. He would never be able to connect with her after the Games. I know some people were still upset that Katniss did not end up with Gale, but I’m personally super happy she ended up with Peeta. She didn’t need a guy but Peeta is good for her.

A genre you don’t typically reach for

IlluminaeScience Fiction

I’m not a sci-fi fan. I don’t hate it but I’m not drawn to sci-fi stories like I am to fantasy and historical fiction and contemporary. I’m trying to change that because there are amazing sci-fi stories I’m missing it out on but I guess I just never gravitate towards that section in Barnes and Noble. Illuminae was kind of my first step in the sci-fi direction and I really enjoyed it. I can’t wait for the rest of the books.

A beloved book character that you’re not a fan of

PaperTownsQuentin “Q” Jacobson

I think my main problem with Paper Towns was the narrator, Q. Q is seen as this sweet dorky smart guy who plays it safe and has a safe life planned out. He’s in love with his gorgeous and rebellious neighbor, Margo Roth Spiegelman, and he goes out to find her in a grand adventure. This is all supposed to seem sweet. I read it as desperate. Like, Q, honey, she’s not into you. You are chasing after a girl you don’t really know. You’re in love with the idea of Margo. Hell, even Margo makes that point for us. I know this is the lesson Q is supposed to learn but I find him so fucking stupid and desperate and sad. I have no patience for him. He also drags his friends away from their high school graduation just to find Margo, which is so selfish. I can’t deal with Q. He needs to wake up.

An author you just can’t get into

TheLordOfTheRingsJ.R.R. Tolkien

I’ve tried to read The Lord of the Rings trilogy multiple times. I try to muddle through the writing. I just can’t. It get so bored. The writing does not keep me engaged at all. I can’t do it. It’s sitting on my bookshelf; it’s been sitting on my bookshelf for years. I pick it up every few months and say that I will make it through. Every time I do that, I fail. I get about 100 to 200 pages into the first one and I give up. I really want to read this series because I want to know what all the fuss is about. I recognize it’s well written, but the writing puts me to sleep.

A trope you’re tired of seeing

The5thWaveThe Perfect Guy

We all know this trope. It’s the guy who’s handsome, smart, tall, athletic, and kind. He has perfect skin and hair and abs. He’s the smartest guy in school and the most popular. He’s athletic and is the best in the school at whatever sport he plays. He’s also super nice and kind, which is shown through their treatment of their little siblings. This guy is so freaking common in YA, especially YA contemporaries. I’m so tired of this trope. It’s so overdone. I’m putting The 5th Wave on here because I was reading it recently and I got to the description of Ben Parrish and it hit me how much I hate this trope and how I need to see something different.

A popular book or series you have no interest in reading

TheMazeRunnerThe Maze Runner series by James Dashner

I know this is still on my To-Read on Goodreads but it’s going to be removed soon. I wanted to read this because I had friends who had read it and the movies were coming out, and I wanted to join the bandwagon. But frankly, the story doesn’t hold much interest for me. Maybe one day I’ll pick it up but for now, I’m not very interested.

The book is always better than the movie, but what movie/TV show is better than the book

PLLPretty Little Liars by Sara Sheppard

This was probably the easiest category for me to pick a story from. I read the first 9 PLL books, and I could not be bothered to read the rest. The constant reemerging of A gets so tiring and ridiculous. I know the show does the same thing but it does it in a way that I actually like. I know PLL is not a perfect show, but it’s way better than the books. I feel like the show adds drama to the story by adding new characters, making side characters main characters, adding to the story, and really setting the scene to make you feel tense or scared. The books don’t do that. The tension is minimal in the books so you never feel the anxiety of the mystery while reading it. I just feel that on the whole, the show does it better. I don’t say that lightly. This is the only story where I can 100% say that the show is better. Other stories have me on the fence but for the most part, I tend to think the book is better.

 

 

