Book Reviews · Wrap-ups

March Wrap-Up

header.jpg

Another month has gone by, and I finally managed to get out of my reading slump! Let me tell you, that reading slump was so bad. I started The 5th Wave in January, and there was a scene that freaked me out a little, so I stopped. Then I had a ton of school work and reading. When I picked it up again, I just wasn’t into it. I tried a few times, and I couldn’t do it. I tried a few other books on my shelf, and they also were not drawing me in. Then, I saw the trailer for Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and decided I needed to read the book. I borrowed a copy from my friend, and it worked. Slump over! Yeah, I had a ton of school reading so I didn’t get to finish as many pleasure books as I would have wanted, but I’ll get there. I finished 2 pleasure books this month and 3 school books. So let’s get to the wrap up.

InformalLogic.jpgInformal Logic by Douglas Walton

This is one of the worst books I have ever read. The writing is redundant and the editing is awful. I don’t know how this book got published in this state. It was so bad. I understand it’s the most in-depth informal logic book available for critical thinking classes, but my God. I want to find whoever edited this and dangle them off a building until they understand where they went wrong. I gave it 1 out of 5 stars on Goodreads, but if I could’ve given it less, I would have.

MissPeregrines.jpgMiss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Like I said, this book got me out of my reading slump. I had always wanted to read this book, but it was never at the top of my list until I saw the trailer for the movie. I loved this book. I absolutely loved it. I am so picky when it comes to books (and most other things) but I gave this 5 out of 5 stars. I thought the writing was super engaging, and the story threw me into another world. When I was reading, I felt as if I had been looking for this book for months, and I just didn’t know it. This was the book I needed. I don’t know if anything else would have gotten me out of my slump. I tried like 3 other books and they did not do the trick. I want to read the rest of the series before I do a full review on this, but that’s something that will be coming at some point.

BlackWidowBlack Widow: Forever Red by Margaret Stohl

I wanted to love this book. I wanted to rave about it like my friends did. I wanted to come away from it for a new appreciation for the perfection that is Natasha Romanoff. But that’s not what happened. I loved this story, but I felt the writing didn’t do it justice. I frankly felt a bit disappointed with it. Don’t get me wrong, I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. I thought the story was good, a bit predictable, but good. The writing just lacked emotion and interest. The writing was relying too much on the story so I didn’t end up building an emotional attachment to any of the characters. You all know I’m such a crybaby when it comes to books, but there were scenes where I knew I was supposed to feel sad but I felt nothing. A good story with writing that doesn’t pull at my heartstrings is not a great book in my eyes. It’s barely a good book. I thought Black Widow was okay, which is so disappointing because it had the potential to be great. I’ll write a more in depth review soon. I just haven’t had time.

AmericaUnequal.jpgAmerica Unequal by Sheldon Danziger and Peter Gottschalk

Another awful book I had to read for class. I hated every minute of it. I hated that I had to basically read it again to follow along with the lecture. I hate this book. I gave it 1 out of 5 stars. I have nothing else to say.

ATheoryOfJustice.jpgA Theory of Justice by John Rawls

I didn’t hate this book as much as I hated America Unequal. Probably because Rawls makes more sense to me than the Danziger and Gottschalk. I still have such a hard time reading for theory courses because my brain doesn’t work like that. I don’t understand it. I gave this 2 out of 5 stars.

