New Releases

New Releases: April 12, 2016 and April 19, 2016

NewReleases

April 12, 2016

AFierceAndSubtlePoison.jpgA Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry

So I will admit that the main reason I want to read this is because it’s set in Puerto Rico, which is where I’m originally from. The other reason is how beautiful the cover is. The story also sounds really cool and mysterious and magical. It’s the story of this cursed girl named Isabel who people say has a killing touch. She’s interacting with a mainlander boy named Lucas who is looking at Isabel for answers about his missing girlfriend. It sounds like a really fun read, and I can’t wait to read it.

ThePassionOfDolssa.jpgThe Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry

I think I’ve established that I love historical fiction a little too much. But I don’t care. This is a historical fiction story set in Medieval France. It’s the story of Dolssa, a girl who’s been branded a heretic and is running from a friar that wants her executed like her mother. She’s saved by a tavern-keeper named Botille, who heals her and hides her from persecution. But the friar is relentless and this could end badly for everyone.

ThisIsTheStoryOfYou.jpgThis Is the Story of You by Beth Kephart

From what I gathered from the blurb, this book is about swimmers. I don’t think I’ve actually talked about the fact that I was a swimmer for all of my childhood. I was a state-qualifier, and I made it to finals from time to time, so I guess I was okay. Other than the little swimmer fangirl in me just wants to see itself represented, this book seems like a really cool mystery. It’s about a girl named Mira who’s home is destroyed by a super-storm and one of her friends who’s always wanted to disappear goes missing.

April 19, 2016

Emerge.jpgEmerge by Tobie Easton

Considering I’m a former swimmer, you may have guessed that I kind of love mermaids. This story deals with some of the aftermath of the Little Mermaid. Apparently, the Mer have lost their immortality because of her. War ravaged the Seven Seas and the Mer have gone into hiding on land. Lia is a Mer who lives in a town near Malibu trying to stay in hiding. A new girl in town is dating a guy she has a crush on, but the new girl has a secret that could ruin things for the Mer. I’ve never heard of urban fantasy dealing with mermaids so I’m really interested in reading this. Plus the cover is kind of gorgeous.

LoveLiesAndSpiesLove, Lies and Spies by Cindy Anstey

HISTORICAL FICTION. I mean, come on. History and spies. This is set in the 19th Century London, and it’s about a girl named Juliana who is not interested in the typically girly things of the time. Her father sends her to London where she tries to secretly publish her research. She meets a Spencer who is a spy for the War Office who’s not interested in relationships. So he and Juliana pretend to fall in love to stop people nagging them and are finally able to focus on their work. Until Spencer’s first mission forces him to look into Juliana.

ScarlettEpsteinHatesItHere.jpgScarlett Epstein Hates It Here by Anna Breslaw

So we’re all fangirls here. We all have our ships. We obsess about fictional characters and obsess about their well-being more than out own. Some of us have even written fanfiction. This is a story that I think will make people go #me. Scarlett Epstein is a teenage girl who writes fanfiction. She hates her school and finds escape in her favorite show, which gets canceled. She seeks solace in the fanfiction world and her stories start to cross the line between fiction and reality.

TheLandOf10000Madonnas.jpgThe Land of 10,000 Madonnas by Kate Hattemer

You know me. I love stories involving death. This is the story of five teenagers who go backpacking through Europe to fulfill their friend’s dying wish. Jesse is dying of a heart condition and he plans this trip for his cousins, best friend, and his girlfriend so they can learn to deal with his death. This sounds like a good contemporary that I could really get into. It gives me similar vibes to Let’s Get Lost, but I feel like I might like this one a little more.

Check out all the books coming out April 12 and April 19 on my Goodreads list!

