New Releases

August New Releases: Week 1

NewReleases

I’m back from dead! I took a break for finals and graduation, and then I had to plan a whole move to DC for law school. But I’m back. I don’t know if I’ll be able to keep this blog up with law school, but I’m gonna try. Anyway, here are the books coming out this week that I’m excited for.

EnterTitleHereEnter Title Here by Rahul Kanakia

Not gonna lie, when I first saw the cover for this book, I thought it was a writing guide. But the synopsis for this book really stood out to me. It’s about a teenage girl named Reshma who is the perfect high school student. She’s class valedictorian and wants to get into Stanford. But she needs something to really set her apart. She decides to write a book after she catches the eye of a  literary agent. In order to make her story relatable, she starts doing “normal” things, like getting friends and a boyfriend. She has her entire story planned out, but of course, things don’t go as planned. This plot seems so familiar yet so new to me. Yes, there are a billion stories about good girls wanting to loosen up a little but the context for this story makes it different. She’s not doing it for herself or to prove anything to anyone. She’s doing it for a good story to tell. I’m excited for the chance the chance to pick this up.

HowToKeepRollingAfterAFallHow to Keep Rolling After a Fall by Karole Cozzo

I’m a bit of a sucker for a redemption story. This is the story of Nikki Baylor, a high school popular girl whose world falls apart after people find out she’s been cyber bullying another girl. She’s expelled, her friends ice her out, and her parents can’t even look her in the eye. She meets a wheelchair rugby player at her new school who helps lift her up and shows her that life doesn’t need to be defined by one mistake. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think bullies should get a lot of sympathy, and I don’t count it as a mistake. But something about this synopsis made me curious. How does the bully feel once they’ve been caught? Do they feel remorse? Do they get worse and pick a new victim? If they regret it and see how wrong they were, how do they move on? How do you live with yourself knowing you almost pushed someone to the edge? We get plenty of stories from the point of view of the bullied. We don’t get a lot from the point of view of the bully. I’d be excited to read something that would be a switch in perspective.

TheSmallerEvil.jpgThe Smaller Evil by Stephanie Kuehn

You know I read anything having to do with mental health. Especially if the cover and title are awesome. This is the story of Arman Dukoff. He has severe anxiety and self-loathing issues. He’s at a self-help retreat center. His retreat leader, Beau, believes Arman can get better and reassures the poor kid that he has a bright future. But one day Beau is gone. Arman was the only witness, but he can’t remember a thing. Arman has to watch his back and trust himself. This book just seems really complicated and interesting. It really calls to me, and I hope I can get my hands on it soon.

TheTelling.jpgThe Telling by Alexandra Sirowy

I’m guilty of being really attracted to this cover. It’s really eerie and haunting and I kind of love it. The story itself also sounds interesting, if a bit familiar. It’s about a girl named Lana who has a wonderful life until one event that we’re not totally clear on changes everything and causes all the suspense. I like this kind of story which is probably why it feels so familiar to me. I’ve slowly been getting into mystery and murder and this book seems to fall well into that category. It hardly seems like a light read, but since when do I read light books?

ThreeTruthsOneLie.jpgThree Truths and a Lie by Brent Hartinger

This is a psychological thriller so no wonder I’m attracted to it. This book has four characters: Rob, Liam, Mia, and Galen. Three of these characters are telling the truth about their past, the other not so much. But not everyone will live to know which one is the lie. Such suspense. Much mystery. Wow. The cover kinda sucks, like Vampire Academy and Bloodlines levels of sucky cover. But I can’t let that guide my judgment. The story sounds cool and like something I’d enjoy.

waxWax by Gina Damico

This is a very…different story. We follow a girl named Poppy who finds weird realistic wax figures in the backroom of the famous candle factory in her town. She runs away, but when she gets home one of these wax figures is hiding in the trunk of her car. His name is Dud. She tries to return him to the factory, but it burns down along with the wax figures and the little old lady who made them. Poppy and Dud investigate the fire, and in the course of the investigation, she finds out the townspeople might not be as human as she thought. This book was just very odd. I didn’t know what to expect when I saw the cover but it certainly wasn’t that. And you know what? I think that’s why I like it. It’s not familiar. It sounds like nothing I’ve read before, and I think that’s a good thing. I’ve been int he worst reading slump for the past few months, and if I can get my hands on this soon, it might get me out of it.

For a full list of this week’s new releases, click here.

