Adaptations · Lists · Uncategorized

Adaptations I Can’t Wait to See

Listicle- Adaptations

Is it just me or has turning books into movies become really popular as of late? I keep seeing lists of book to movie adaptions everywhere, and I thought I should go ahead and make a list of the adaptations I’m beyond excited to see this year.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Release Date: October 7, 2016

TheGirlOnTheTrainI haven’t actually read this book yet, but it’s been on my to-read list for a really long time. When I saw the trailer for the movie adaptation, I was even more convinced that I needed to read this book and see this movie ASAP. I don’t know much about the story, and I honestly want to keep it that way. I do know it’s a crime mystery/thriller involving a woman named Rachel (played by Emily Blunt) who saw something while she was on the train, and everything spirals out of control from there.

Here’s the most recent trailer:

Inferno by Dan Brown

Release Date: October 14, 2016

inferno.jpgI read this book pretty much when it came out. It’s not my favorite of the Robert Langdon series, and I’d be lying if I said I wouldn’t want to see an adaption of The Lost Symbol first. But I did enjoy this book. I like the character of Robert Langdon, the Harvard symbology professor who goes on adventures with beautiful and equally intelligent women. The books themselves are fabulous. But Tom Hanks’s interpretation of the character is what really brings these stories to life. Tom Hanks is one of my favorite actors, and I love him in these movies. If this trailer is anything to go by, this is going to be another amazing ride.

Here’s the most recent trailer:

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling

Release Date: November 18, 2016

FantasticBeasts.jpgOkay, so this isn’t really an adaptation. The Fantastic Beasts book is just a guide to the beasts within the Harry Potter universe; the same guide our beloved characters have to read for class. However, that doesn’t make this movie sound any less awesome, plus at around the same time the movie comes out, we’re getting a book version of the screenplay. I love the trailers for this movie. It looks amazing, and I cannot wait to see the full awesomeness that is Eddie Redmayne as Newt Scamander. This comes out a few days after my birthday, so I’ll probably be treating myself to a birthday movie.

Here’s the most recent trailer:

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Release Date: December 25, 2016

MissPeregrine's.jpgI read this book a few months ago, and it briefly got me out a reading slump. I absolutely loved this story. It was so different from anything I’d ever read. I love the world of the Peculiars, and I can’t wait to read the rest of the series. Now, when I saw the trailer for this movie, I actually slow-clapped for Mr. Tim Burton. The covers for these books are in black and white, but the story is anything but that, and Tim Burton really brought out the magic and color in this story. Well, at least it seems like he did, based on the trailer. I was a little skeptical at first of the switching of peculiarities between two characters, but I don’t think it’s going to change the plot all that much. Frankly, I can understand why visually it would make sense to switch those peculiarities. I’m just beyond excited to see this story come to life.

Here’s the most recent trailer:

