New Releases

New Releases: August Week 5

NR829

Click here for the full list of new releases. There are a lot of books that I’m excited for so I’m gonna try to keep it short and to the point.

August 30, 2016

beenhereallalongBeen Here All Along by Sandy Hall

For a second, I thought this book was basically going to be a novelization of Taylor Swift’s “You Belong With Me” music video, but I was so wrong. This book looks really interesting, and I’m really enjoying the trend of having more LGBT+ relationships in YA Books.

forthislifeonlyFor This Life Only by Stacey Kade

You all know how I love sad stories. This book seems like it’ll be a really interesting read. I love reading about recovery; I think it’s such an important thing to talk about because life happens and sometimes we don’t know how to deal with it.

georgiapeachesGeorgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown

Another story featuring a protagonist in the LGBT+ community. This story looks like it has the possibility to be really funny and really sad. I’m really excited for it.

girlinpiecesGirl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

Another really sad story; I guess I’m predictable. I think this will me another heartwrenching story about recovery and stepping away from the edge.

inbetweendayIn-between Days by Vikki Wakefield

This sounds like it would be a light, contemporary read. I do sometimes need a break from all the sad. This book looks like it’ll have a nice balance of emotions.

justkillme.jpgJust Kill Me by Adam Selzer

This book just sounds really interesting. It’s probably going to be a lot of fun to read it around Halloween. I don’t read a lot with ghosts and murder, so I’d be excited to add this to my shelf, especially since it sounds like it’ll also be funny.

scaryoutthere.jpgScary Out There by Jonathan Maberry

Another fun Halloween read. This is a compilation of horror short stories based on what scares the authors. It sounds like something I’d need to read in the daytime based on the writers who contributed, but I’m excited to expand my genre bubble.

tellmesomethingreal.jpgTell Me Something Real by Calla Devlin

So the cover might be influencing my desire to read this book, but the story also sounds really interesting. I like stories dealing with family drama because sometimes I feel like YA authors forget that teenagers sometimes have zero drama with friends or school and family is a huge part of your life at that age.

thecallThe Call by Peadar O’Guillin

This sounds like The Hunger Games with fairies and fantasy. It’s also set in Ireland, and I don’t think I’ve ever read a book set in Ireland, so that should be fun. I’m excited to read about any Irish folklore and mythology.

thefixes.jpgThe Fixes by Owen Matthews

This book sounds kind of like the Bling Ring but without the stealing. I grew up in a suburb north of Atlanta and sometimes I would see these rich kids be so bored and do stupid things to alleviate their rich kid boredom. It’s kind of fascinating to me.

theformofthingsunknown.jpgThe Form of Things Unknown by Robin Bridges

You know how I feel about books with mental health. They’re fascinating. This book is also set in Savannah and mentions Athens so I dig it. Is it just me or are authors setting books in Georgia a lot lately?

thethousandthfloor.jpgThe Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

This book just sounds like it’s a lot of fun. I get the impression that it’s a mystery with multiple perspectives. Plus the cover is gorgeous.

September 1, 2016

wiredman.jpgWired Man and Other Freaks of Nature by Sashi Kaufman

This sounds like a good and different contemporary. Contemporary books can sometimes feel so cookie cutter, so I like it when they throw in something special and unique.

September 2, 2016

dessertfirst.jpgDessert First by Dean Gloster

Another sad story, I’m sorry. I feel like this story might kill my feelings, but it’ll also make me smile.

September 3, 2016

peculiar.jpgTales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

I technically haven’t finished this series yet, but I just love this is being published on Loop Day (you’ll get what I mean if you’ve read the books). So far, I really like this series so I’d love to hear more about this world.

 

