Book Tags

Wicked Book Tag

Taking inspiration from the Taylor Swift Book Tag, I’ll be doing a book tag based on the songs from my favorite musical, Wicked, which I will be seeing next weekend in  New York. OMG I’m so excited, I can’t even.

Let’s get on with the tag, shall we?

1. No One Mourns The Wickeda character who no one would feel bad if they died.

Without a doubt, Dolores Umbridge from the Harry Potter Series is the winner for this category. Like who is this woman? Her patronus got stronger when she was wearing a horcrux. What the fuck? That’s messed up.

2. Dear Old Shiz – a book set in college or university

This was really hard because I can’t say I’ve read many books set in a college or university. I’m going to go with Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison a lot of the book is set in college.

3. The Wizard and I – a book that gives you hope

This was a hard one because I read really sad books, but a book that gives me hope is And Still We Rise by Miles Corwin.

4. What Is This Feeling?  – a book you loathed

That would be Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. I just couldn’t get through this one. I know it’s a classic but I hate it so much.

5. Something Bad a book where you just knew something bad was going to happen but didn’t know what

The Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead wins this category. I was not expecting that ending. (BTW if the ending to Allegiant had not been spoiled I would have picked this one, I’m sure)

6.  Dancing Through Life – a carefree, light book

Frindle by Andrew Clements. Yes, it’s a children’s book but I can’t think of a book I’ve read recently that’s “light.”

7. Popular – a book that needs more recognition

The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler wins this round. More people need to read this and it needs to be popular and it will always be my number one rec for women.

8. I’m Not That Girl – a book with heart break 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green is the clear winner. I mean not only do the characters go through heart break but so does the reader.

9. One Short Day – a book set in a country or city you’ve always wanted to visit.

Angels and Demons by Dan Brown because I’ve always wanted to visit Rome and the Vatican.

10. A Sentimental Man – a character that’s trying to do good but is an antagonist 

Jeanine Matthews from the Divergent Series. Hear me out. Jeanine is honestly doing what she thinks she needs to do to save the faction system and keep order in society. And to be honest, other than the Divergents, everyone seems pretty content with how the faction system and society works. She’s not a hero, but she’s trying to do what she can to keep society stable.

11. Defying Gravity – a character that basically says fuck the world I’m doing my own things

Sydney Sage from the Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series. She basically says fuck you to the Alchemists and does what she needs to do for herself.

12. Thank Goodness –  a special and happy event in the midst of a shitstorm within the book

This is a weird category. Basically, when a shitstorm is going on during the book but the characters decide to have some sort of celebration. I’m going to pick Finnick and Annie’s wedding in Mockingjay. It was a light moment during the war.

13. Wonderfula character who’s full of themselves

Voldemort from Harry Potter. He is very arrogant and self absorbed and doesn’t really care about anyone but himself.

14. As Long As Your Mine – a scene from a book where your OTP couldn’t keep their hands off each other.

The cabin scene from Shadow Kiss. Dimitri and Rose had it going on during that scene and I nearly died.

15. No Good Deed  –  a character who is truly good but keeps fucking up and hates themselves for it

Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games. She tries to do the best she can and people still end up getting hurt. Obviously not her fault but god does she think it is.

16. March of the Witch Hunters – a book with a call to action

I’m going to be a cheating little fuck and go with Wicked by Gregory Maguire and the inspiration for this amazing musical.

17. For Good – a book that has changed me for good

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupery. That book will forever be near and dear to my heart and it changed my perspective on life. I don’t even know why but that book made a huge impact on me.

18. Finale “Wicked” – favorite book series finale

Going to go with Deathly Hallows. I feel like that was a good finale to such an amazing series.